Ubuntu Gutsy Beta or How I got PO’d at PCLinuxOS

Well…I tried PCLinuxOS. IT looked cool, it sounded uber sexy, it even smelled good when I pulled it outta the burner, but that smell was about the best I got. It made me take the time to configure wireless, then it didn’t work. It  was super slow, much slower than any other liveCD I’ve used, even when I’ve had beryl and all running, so now it’s out and I’ve got the Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy beta installed. The Gutsy beta is awesome. Wireless worked mostly outta the box, had to do a bit o stuff with the command line to get wireless to connect, but I eventually got it and installed Wicd. For those of you looking forward to a final release, you won’t be disappointed. It’s total sexiness. Everything just works, I’m doing a ton of stuff right now and I’ve still got RAM to spare. I’ll post more later, but so far it’s all good.

~Jordan “The Stash” Montgomery

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

